Parting Shot — Touchers and the “30 Second” Rule

Various comments, etc. have been
heard regarding touchers and the so-
called “30-second rule™ and the use
of the “30-second rule” after the
delivery of the last bowl in an end.
In an attempt to clarify this, one
must lock at the following:

Law 14.2:

“14.2 A bowl is also a toucdher if after
having come to rest:

14.2.1 it falls and touches the jack
before the next bowl is delivered, or
14.2.2 in the case of the last bowl of
an end, it falls and touches the jack
within the period of 30 seconds that
applies under law 23.17

Law 23.1 and Law 23.2:

“23.1 the process of dedding the
number of shots scored must not
start until the last bowl reguired to
be played in an end has come to rest,
or 30 seconds after that if either skip,
or opponent in Singles, asks for this
30 second period.

23.2 if either skip, or opponent in
Singles, asked for the 30 second
period, no bowl which is likely to fall
must be secured during this period.”

It is thus clear that a bowl can only
become a toucher, once it comes to

rest if it falls and touches the jack
before the opponent delivers
histher next bowl or if
immediately upon the last bowl
coming to rest (and then only wrt
this specific bowl) either skip, or
opponent in Singles, calls for the
30 second period. The question
may be asked as to why one
would request this 30 seconds if
the last bowl is lying right by the
Jack — “So what if it becomnes a
toucher or not!” The answer is
simple but two-fold:

If the Skip of Team B (the
opponent) calls for the 30 second
period it could be because if the
bowl, of Team A falls and touches
the jack the jack may move doser
to one of Team B's bowls thus
decreasing the number of shots
scored by Team A, allow Team B
to score the shot(s) or even result
in a no shot.

If the Skip of Team A (the team
lying the shot) calls for the 30
second rule it could be because if
their bowl falls and touches the
jack the jack may move closer to
their other bowl(s) just out of

count for additional shot(s) and thus
increase the number of shots, they
score in that end.

It is also impertant to note that any
of the Skips, or opponents in Singles,
may call for the 30 second period
(again immediately upon the last
bowl coming to rest) if he or she is
convinced that any previously
played bowl may fall thus resulting
in an additional shot{s) or if he/she
is the opponent cutting down the
number of shots by the other team.

It is important to note that the
request for the 30 second period
must be made immediately upon the
last bowl of the end coming to rest.
Failing to do so gives any player in
the opposing team the right to prop
any bowl that may fall.
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